Changes

14 Aug

Hello everyone!

I hope you have gotten the chance to see my feature on Auburn Family yesterday. Professors like Robert French reminds me how education should be taught for the real world. He is truly an amazing professor who really cares that his students are learning what they need to know to be successful. I think this Benjamin Franklin quote he likes should be the motto for all teachers: Tell me, and I forget. Teach me, and I may remember. Involve me, and I learn. Thank you so much Robert, for the feature! My friends and family (and I!) loved it.

So as you may see the post of the day is called “changes” – that’s because there are a few. First you may notice I’m not counting which day it is. That’s because my 30-day pass for the Marta expired Saturday so I’m not sure if I’ll be taking the Marta every day or not so numbering them just doesn’t make sense anymore.

Second change is, I’m trying to figure out how to manage my commute now. It was pretty difficult to make the 30-day pass make sense financially. I had to pretty much take it every single work day or loose money. So when I was heading out of town on a Friday or meeting up friends after work, I would not use my Marta card (-$4.75, the daily rate if I took it 20 days roundtrip in a 30 day period) and have to pay for parking (-$3). So just the option to drive to work would cost me nearly $8, not including gas.

So now I’ve decided to just buy trips – which don’t expire and I can just take it when I want, and when I don’t it’s no worry. Actually it’s kind of a worry because it took me AN HOUR AND A HALF to get home from work yesterday when I drove. Granted, I was talking on the phone and got lost/distracted but still. That’s ridiculous.

Third change doesn’t really have to do with my commute. It’s more about my life. I think it’s finally hitting me that I’m not in college anymore and that the world in Auburn is going to go on without me. Auburn Recruitment went on fine, my sorority family found new littles, classes start again on Thursday, friends still there moved into new places, and all without a hitch, and without me. Sometimes I forget that with how much Auburn shaped my life that it will go on when I’m gone. Football games will be played in Jordan-Hare without me in it (for the first time in 4 seasons), Haley Center will get lost in without me in it, friends and relationships will be made without me in it. Auburn will go on, but so will I. I will always be thankful for what and who Auburn has given me, and am lucky to still have so much of that. And for what I’ve lost since I’ve left Auburn, I will always feel blessed and be thankful that I was lucky to have it for those four years I was there.

And that leads me to Atlanta, and my sweet, beloved Marta. Atlanta is the new place, this change-up, I have yet to discover. There are so many neighborhoods, windy streets, tree-lined neighborhoods and skyscraping buildings waiting for me to explore. This is my new home, and this is where I will start my new life.

Change is hard. Change is scary. Change is exciting. Change is inevitable. Change is the only thing that’s sure not to change.

And I’m excited. Welcome me home, Atlanta.

-gh

2 Responses to “Changes”

  1. Teeny August 15, 2012 at 12:17 am #

    Wow. You are incredible.

  2. Mollzz August 30, 2012 at 1:59 pm #

    I think I just got a tear in my eye. For realz.

Leave a Reply

