Mormons, Mountain Bikes & The Marta

20 Aug

Please note: due to WordPress sucking, this is my second time writing this post tonight. So I apologize.

 

Growing up in the most populated Mormon city outside of Utah, I’ve seen my fair share of Mormon missionaries. You know what I’m talking about: the white short sleeved button up, the tie, the pocket protector, the works. So when Elder Christian and Elder Fuller walked into the Marta last week (they wear nametags), I knew I was about to witness a good blog post.

Why? Because they sat down DIRECTLY ACROSS from someone I’m going to call Sweet Young Man II. SYM2 had facial tattoos, piercings, was a little intimidating and had a mountain bike. These were the sideways seats. You are directly facing someone in these seats. This was about to get weird, I thought.

But it didn’t. Elder Christian asked SYM2 if he mountain biked, and then a conversation began. I was watching two people who would likely never be in the same place have a real, normal and interesting conversation. A conversation that was not awkward, forced and, to my surprise, not about religion. Someone who was blind could have thought these people were good friends.

Then when the unlikely group got off the train, they continued to talk.

Oh, the things the Marta can do.

 

-gh

2 Responses to “Mormons, Mountain Bikes & The Marta”

  1. Mollzz August 30, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    I’m really digging your covert, stalker pics. I hope you’re remembering to keep the flash off.

    • Anonymous August 30, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

      Oh my gosh, I hope I am too. CRAP! Well all in the name of blogging 🙂

Leave a Reply

