From My Heart To Your Headphones

21 Aug

Back before college, I was really into music. I would be all about new bands, I’d go to concerts big and small and even listen to Beatles vinyls on a record player my dad got me for Christmas one year.

Since going to college and away from all my friends that were in or into bands, I lost that passion for music. I don’t think it’s a bad thing, it was just something that happened.

As someone who has played, felt, jammed, listened to, danced to and loved (and still loves) music, I am always amazed by the power it can bring. A song can bring up memories of a lost love, a true friend or a great night. A song can make me laugh, cry, feel empowered or just plain great. Sometimes I hear a song that makes me really wish I was still dancing. Sometimes I still dance to it anyway.

So for the last couple of days riding the Marta, I decided I would start listening to some music again. I’ve been forced to listen to the random array of music I put on my iPhone when I first got it last November (because the Marta doesn’t have phone service so I can’t use my favorite app of all time, Pandora). It’s been awkward and awesome, but overall made the ride more enjoyable, as music always does.

And it reminded me I need some new music. (Suggestions?)

So one day last week I was riding home from work completely zoned out, listening to my headphones, head leaned against the window, as many o’ Marta passenger does. Then, out of the side of my eye, I see a guitar. I look over, and see a guy and a girl maybe about my age just sitting, playing and singing. My own headphones were so loud I couldn’t hear anything, so I took them out and started hearing some real, live music.

Yeah sure say they were panhandling or whatever you want, but for those four minutes between Lindberg and Lenox I was treated to a really cool live show: a song I never heard before and a song I’ve never hear like this (Goyte’s Somebody That I Used To Know). And for those four minutes I remembered how liberating, exciting and unique music is.

And I also busted out iPhone to take some videos, because like I was going to miss out this blogging opportunity. Psh, do you KNOW me?

-gh

The “Original” Song

Goyte – Somebody That I Used To Know

2 Responses to “From My Heart To Your Headphones”

  1. Kristen Peterson September 11, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    so cool! and how had you never heard this song by august 21st?!

    • gabrielle September 11, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

      I had heard the Goyte song but not the first one!

Leave a Reply

